Banner Default Image

Strategies for Success: Financial Analysis and Modelling

blog author

about 1 month ago

by Eleonore Jones

Strategies for Success: Financial Analysis and Modelling

Based on a poll we conducted last week, it seems 53% of you want to prioritise working on your financial analysis and modelling skills over financial reporting skills (30%), financial planning skills (10%) and reconciliation skills (7%).

Here are our suggested strategies for improving the technical and high-in-demand financial analysis and modelling skills that will boost your professional profile and support your career development. It requires a combination of continuous learning, practical application and exposure to real-world scenarios.

Advanced Excel Training

Having advanced skills in Excel will take your professional profile to the next level. You can take online courses or attend workshops focusing on advanced Excel functions, formulas and data manipulation techniques. We recommend you practise regularly by working on financial models and using Excel to build complex financial structures and scenarios.

Specialised Courses

You could take this even further, by enrolling in specialised financial modelling courses offered by a reputable institution or online platform. You’ll be able to find courses that cover topics such as modelling, valuation techniques and industry-specific financial modelling.

Case studies and real-world projects

You should use case studies and real-world projects to apply theoretical knowledge to practical situations. If you can, try and find opportunities to work on projects that involve financial modelling, valuation, and analysis.

Continuous reading and research

We suggest you stay updated on industry trends, changes in accounting standards and new financial modelling techniques by reading books, articles, and research papers. It’s a good idea to also follow reputable publications and attend relevant webinars or conferences. Having the knowledge will help you in your current and any future roles and will show your genuine interest and drive which will be very attractive to potential employers.

Online Platforms and resources

There’s a bountiful supply of platforms such as Udemy or LinkedIn learning which provide targeted courses on financial modelling and analysis. You’ll also be able to find countless websites, resources and templates online to help you explore financial modelling further (please find our suggested websites and platforms below)

Financial Modelling Software

Financial modelling requires skills and knowledge across accounting principles, financial statements and valuation methods and functions. Therefore we suggest you familiarise yourself with specialised financial modelling software such as Microsoft Power BI, Tableau or dedicated financial modelling tools. Having skills and proficiency in these will be beneficial to any role within finance or accounting. 

Continuous practice and feedback

Practice makes perfect. The best thing to do is practise building financial models for different scenarios. You can also try and get feedback from mentors or online communities to identify areas of improvement.

Advanced Degree or Certifications

If you’re thinking about progressing seriously in a finance career that focuses on financial analysis and modelling, you may want to consider investing in an advanced degree or certification in Finance, accounting or a related field if you haven’t already.  Some options could be the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) or Financial Modelling and Valuation Analyst (FMVA).

Summary  

Improvement comes from consistent practice, a willingness to learn and the ability to apply theoretical knowledge to practical situations. You need to keep yourself on your toes so challenge yourself with regular new challenges and projects and look for opportunities where you can refine and expand your skills.

Taking this proactive approach will foster a growth-oriented mindset, ensuring you are not just moving with industry trends but actively improving your skill set in the ever-evolving landscape of financial analysis and modelling.

 

Useful resources:

Courses

Udemy:

Beginner to Pro in Excel | Financial Modeling and Valuation - https://www.udemy.com/course/beginner-to-pro-in-excel-financial-modeling-and-valuation/

Excel Financial Modeling and Business Analysis Masterclass - https://www.udemy.com/course/excel-financial-modeling-and-business-analysis-masterclass/

Excel for Financial Modeling  - https://www.udemy.com/course/excel-for-financial-analysis-financial-modeling/

Financial Planning Analysis | Building a companies Budget - https://www.udemy.com/course/financial-planning-analysis-building-a-companys-budget/

LinkedIn Learning

Corporate Financial Statement Analysis -https://www.linkedin.com/learning/corporate-financial-statement-analysis

Financial Modeling and Forecasting Financial Statements -https://www.linkedin.com/learning/financial-modeling-and-forecasting-financial-statements

Corporate Finance | Robust Financial Modeling -https://www.linkedin.com/learning/corporate-finance-robust-financial-modeling

Master Key Financial Analyst Skills -https://www.linkedin.com/learning/paths/master-key-financial-analyst-skills

Excel VBA Process Modelinghttps://www.linkedin.com/learning/excel-vba-process-modeling-2

Future Learn

Financial Analysis for Business Decisions: How to Use Tableau and Financial Modeling -

https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/financial-analysis-for-business-decisions-tableau-financial-modelling-sc

Coursera

Create Financial Statement Using Microsoft Excel -https://www.coursera.org/projects/create-financial-statement-using-microsoft-excel

Websites & Podcasts

Financial Times | Markets -https://www.ft.com/markets?segmentID=361c623d-11ab-afbb-414a-568dafa8307d&gad_source=1&gclid=Cj0KCQiAwbitBhDIARIsABfFYIIuQ4m57ghdQVY8v0zF70J1tOk1TKw0griT3Kuu-_t4mK-sjUhcA4MaArRLEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

Investopedia | Financial Analysis -https://www.investopedia.com/financial-analysis-4427788

CFA Institutes – Podcastshttps://www.cfainstitute.org/en/events/podcasts

Articles, Blogs & Research

CFA Institute| Financial Analysts Journal -https://rpc.cfainstitute.org/en/research/financial-analysts-journal#sort=%40officialz32xdate%20descending

Wall Street Journal | Money Beat -https://www.wsj.com/news/moneybeat

Books

Mastering Financial Modeling in Microsoft Excel – Alistair L. Day

Financial Analysis and Modeling using Excel and VBA – Chandan Sengupta

Financial Modeling and Valuation: A Practical Guide to Investment Banking and Private Equity – Paul Pignataro

Financial Modeling – Simon Beninga

Templates

Microsoft | Financial Management Templates -https://create.microsoft.com/en-us/templates/financial-management

Insights Software | Financial Model Examples & Templates -  https://insightsoftware.com/blog/11-financial-model-examples-and-templates/

Wall Street Oasis | Excel Financial Modeling -https://www.wallstreetoasis.com/resources/templates/excel-financial-modeling

Share this article